Skip to content

Projectors, Document Cameras, and Interactive Technologies

Projector Lens
Image by libraryman via Flickr

Please share your ideas. What features do you look for in . . .

  • Projectors
  • Document Cameras
  • Interactive Technologies
     (. . . such as ActivBoards, Classroom Reponse Systems, Mobi Slates, etc.)?

How do teachers use these devices to make classrooms more engaging environments for students?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

This clip describes the TT02-RX document camera, one of the models that we’re currently testing in the District. Would a unit like this one be good for classroom use? Please share your thoughts.  

This is an Elmo, but it should not be confused with the TT02-RX.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Karen Law #

    I just returned from the TCEA conference in Austin and am really excited by the new technology I saw.

    I do not currently have any of these items in my room, but would very much like to! With the Elmo oprojector alone I could enhance most of what I do in my US History classroom.

    This looks like a very nice projector (from the video). I especially like the remote–I can move about the room while explaining things.
    I would like to use this to project student essays for discussion and critique. In addition to using it in place of everything I now use an overhead projector for, I could now demonstrate Cornell-style notes during lectures, show corrections, and examples for immediate feedback. AND, I probably will discover more as I use it regularly.

    February 17, 2010
  2. Elaine Smith #

    With so many of the high school students using Office 2007 at home, now is the time to upgrade the schools to 2007. It can be very confusing to use 2 office programs that are as vastly different as the jump that was made from 2003 to 2007. When budget allows this would be a very good move to make to keep us current with the industry standard.

    February 19, 2010
    • You make a very good point. It’s really more of a logistical issue than a budgetary one. At this point, the software has to be installed one computer at a time at many of the campuses. (I know you have some direct experience with this, Elaine. 🙂 )

      The bulk of the licenses needed were purchased last summer during the K-8 rollout of MS 2003. (We actually bought 2007.) More would be needed, primarily for the high schools.

      February 19, 2010
  3. Karen Smith #

    Love my ELMO and projector! I use it for everything in the classroom! No more overhead shining in my eyes, no more blue fingers from the pens, no more transparencies, and no more cluttered overhead cart:) I used it just yesterday to explain the 3D shapes for the geometry lesson. Everyone can see the shapes on the screen!

    February 19, 2010
  4. Monica Abrams #

    I have been using an Elmo document camera connected to a TV for several years. I have recently been able to use a projector, which has increased its efficiency.
    The use of the Elmo has allowed me to use a book directly without making an overhead or copy. I am able to allow the students to see the book I am reading as I’m reading it. The students are able to take a risk and show off their work on the Elmo, which allows for supporting and building their confidence. With a worksheet, I am able to put it on the Elmo as I am giving directions, which helps with understanding and reteaching.
    Using the projector has made it easier for the students to see. The TV worked fine, but made it difficult to read from the back of the room.

    February 19, 2010
  5. Lynn #

    I have had an ActivBoard in my classroom for several years. It is a great tool–the students love using it. They enjoy writing on the board and seeing their work displayed. I am just learning how to use it more effectively, as well as how to use the bells and whistles that are built into the program. I’m looking forward to the students’ reactions when they see work disappear before their eyes and reappear. It certainly brings the EnVisions text to life for the students and keeps them engaged. My only gripe is using a cart for the projector–it’s quite a learning curve to learn how to keep out of the way of the projector so you can see what you’re writing on the board. A mounted projector would make much more sense. But we certainly make do with the wonderful technology we do have! It would be great to see more boards in the district–or tablets.

    February 19, 2010
  6. Cindy Brock #

    Just completed Mobi training last week with teachers from several of the campuses in the district. They are all excited about the new and exciting ways that they will be able to implement the technology into their classrooms using this new tool. We heard lots of good comments about how they can use the interactive tools, like the protractor, rulers, etc to enhance instruction. They loved that they will be able to use them with their math textbook adoption materials. In addition the ability to use Google Earth with the interactive proctractors and rulers is something that they are excited to try in their rooms.

    February 22, 2010

Leave a Reply

