Skip to content

Extreme Makeover Phase I Update

We know you’re anxious to begin using the way-cool new Makeover equipment.

The Quality Control process is underway. Two-way video and USB  cables are being installed, document cameras set up, projectors focused, and speakers tested. (Remotes will be delivered to principals for checkout to teachers and not left in the room during this process.)

This process started at the elementary schools today and will continue through the week. Several crews are involved.

Over 97% of AV systems in Phase I will be fully operational by the end of business on Friday.

Orientation sessions are scheduled for the week of August 23- August 27.

At that time, we will be able to provide a list of any rooms that require more work.

There will be short orientation sessions provided at each campus during conference periods the first week of school. For the self-starters who want to be among the very first to use their equipment, we are working on some “Quick Start” materials.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Karen Oates-Jackson #

    I am at Wester Middle School, and I understand that due to the electrical upgrades our projectors, etc will not be functional until mid-September. However, I have noticed that most-if not all-the projectors, screens, and speakers in the building have at least been installed/mounted while mine are still in boxes in my classroom. Should I be concerned?
    Thanks.

    August 18, 2010
    • Mrs. Oates-Jackson, thanks for contacting me with your question. I think you’re still OK. Efforts have shifted to complete all of the work at campuses that are now ready electrically for the installations, such as Harmon and Rendon. On some campuses, the electrical work has been complete for less than 48 hours, so they have had a small time frame during which to complete those final steps, and theyn have to work fast at those locations to complete them before school begins. The installers will be back to make sure that you are taken care of, and the fact that so much work has been done at Wester already is an added bonus. Please email me if the boxes are in your way so that we can get those moved for you.

      August 18, 2010
      • Karen Oates-Jackson #

        Thank you for the update. The boxes are currently sitting in the front of my room, and I have rather large classes, so I do believe they are going to be in the way for Monday, so if it is possible to move them until they will be installed I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again!

        August 20, 2010
      • I believe that this as taken care of for you over the weekend. Please let me know.

        August 23, 2010
  2. dean mooney #

    could you post a link to the overall schedule for the makeover? I would like to see when and where this is happening/going to happen.

    thanks

    August 19, 2010
    • Phase I – Summer 2010
      AND, BOR, HAR, PON, REN, WBR, MOR, TIM, ORR, HOW, WOR, WES, SHS

      Phase II – 2010-2011
      DAV, GID, TJO, NAS, REI, MSH, SMI, TIP, ICE, DSH, DJO, MHS, THS, AEC/BIC

      Phase III – 2011-2012
      JBR, CAB, DAU, HOL, PER, SPE, LOW, LIL, COB, JOB, LHS, BBCTA/FHS

      August 19, 2010
  3. Brad McAlister #

    Over the summer during the technology makeover a projector with a drop down screen and speakers installed in my room at T.A. Howard Rm 115. My speakers are currently humming. Will there be a run through before school starts to make sure all equipment is working correctly? I tried to put in a work order but there is no barcode or serial number on the speakers as of yet. If there will not be a walk through I need someone to come and correct the humming in my speakers.

    Thank you.

    August 19, 2010
    • The Quality Control process is underway. Two-way video and USB cables are being installed, document cameras set up, projectors focused, and speakers tested. (Remotes will be delivered to principals for checkout to teachers and not left in the room during this process.)

      This process started at the elementary schools today and will continue through the week. Several crews are involved. They are to be at Howard today.

      August 19, 2010
  4. Pamela Eaves #

    I have been fortunate enough to have a document camera and I use it daily in my teaching. I noticed on this email a reference to the document camera but no one has been able to answer my question as to its location. If it has to be attached to our computer which is in the back of the room, we would be teaching to the back of our students. Can you tell me how this will work?

    August 19, 2010
    • Sure! The document camera is to be attached to the teacher computer on the teacher desk. With the Promethean slate and software, you’ll have the ability to control the document camera from anywhere in the room as well as annotate onto the projected image of the document.

      August 19, 2010
  5. Karen Oates-Jackson #

    Yes, someone came and removed the boxes late Friday afternoon, and they indicatd they would be back on Monday afternoon (today) to complete the install.
    Thanks.

    August 23, 2010

Leave a Reply

